Thursday, September 16, 2010


November 7, 2010 – February 6, 2011

The Weatherspoon Art Museum at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro is pleased to announce the selection of artists for the 2010 Art on Paper biennial exhibition, which opens to the public on November 7, 2010 and remains on view through February 6, 2011.

Xandra Eden, the Weatherspoon’s Curator of Exhibitions, has invited seventy-five artists of regional and international significance to present unique works made on, or of, paper. “With this year’s exhibition, the Weatherspoon continues to expand its international scope,” comments Eden, “Art on Paper 2010 includes artists from across the Americas, Europe, Asia and the Middle East." The full list of participating artists appears at the end of this release.

Since 1965, the Weatherspoon’s Art on Paper exhibition has charted a history of art through the rubric of one-of-a-kind works on paper. Now in its forty-first year, the steadfast commitment of xpdex (formerly the Dillard Paper Company) has allowed the Weatherspoon to acquire works from each and every Art on Paper exhibition, resulting in the formation and tremendous growth of the Dillard Collection of Art on Paper, which today numbers close to 550 objects. Acquisitions have included work by some of art’s seminal practitioners, including Louise Bourgeois, Eva Hesse, Brice Marden, Joan Mitchell, Robert Smithson, and Frank Stella. Support for the exhibition and catalogue is generously provided by the F. M. Kirby Foundation, Inc.

The exhibition opens on Saturday, November 6 with a Curator’s Talk by Xandra Eden at 6:30 pm, and a Preview Party hosted by the Weatherspoon Art Association from 7-9 pm. Call 336.334.5770 or email for more information and to purchase tickets.

The 28-page Art on Paper 2010 catalogue will includes selected images, an exhibition checklist, and curator’s statement.

Art on Paper 2010: List of Artists
Mequitta Ahuja
Diana Al-Hadid
Michael Ananian
Ky Anderson
Walead Beshty
Huma Bhabha
Nina Bovasso
Natasha Bowdoin
Nicholas Buffon
Tom Burr
Barbara Campbell Thomas
Emilie Clark
Dawn Clements
Gabriel de la Mora
Brian Dettmer
Josh Dorman
Jason Dunda
Will Duty
Jenny Eggleston
Bryan Ellis
Mark Fox
Rosemarie Fiore
Roland Flexner
Heather Gordon
Maximo Gonzalez
Belinda Haikes
Jacob Hashimoto
Elana Herzog
Carter Hodgkin
Katie Holten
Rebecca Horn
Jessica Jackson Hutchins
Fritz Janschka
Lisa M. Kellner
Eun Hyung Kim
Elizabeth Leal
Tonya D. Lee
Maria (Eun-Hee) Lim
Cynthia Lin
John Maggio
Cameron Martin
Frank McCauley
Elizabeth McIntosh
Maureen McQuillan
Jennifer Meanley
Alison Moffett
Roy Nydorf
Paul P.
Angela Piehl
Howardena Pindell
Amy Pleasant
William Powhida
Amy Purcell
Lauren Rice
Charlie Roberts
Chris Scarborough
Aurel Schmidt
Frank Selby
Julie Shapiro
Leah Sobsey
Duston Spear
Mariam Aziza Stephan
Dirk Stewen
Matthew Stromberg
Susanne Thomas
Christopher Thomas
Scott Treleaven
Michael Velliquette
Sarah Walker
Lee Walton
Robert Watts
Ruby Wescoat
Paula Wilson
Lisa Woods
Rachael Wren

About the Weatherspoon Art Museum

The Weatherspoon Art Museum at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro acquires, preserves, exhibits, and interprets modern and contemporary art for the benefit of its multiple audiences, including university, community, regional, and beyond. Through these activities, the museum recognizes its paramount role of public service, and enriches the lives of diverse individuals by fostering an informed appreciation and understanding of the visual arts and their relationship to the world in which we live.

The Weatherspoon Art Museum at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro was founded by Gregory Ivy in 1941 and is the earliest of any art facilities within the UNC system. The museum was founded as a resource for the campus, community, and region and its early leadership developed an emphasis—maintained to this day—on presenting and acquiring modern and contemporary works of art. A 1950 bequest from the renowned collection of Claribel and Etta Cone, which included prints and bronzes by Henri Matisse and other works on paper by American and European modernists, helped to establish the Weatherspoon’s permanent collection. Other prescient acquisitions during Ivy’s tenure included a 1951 suspended mobile by Alexander Calder, Woman by Willem de Kooning, a pivotal work in the artist’s career that was purchased in 1954, and the first drawings by Eva Hesse and Robert Smithson to enter a museum collection.

In 1989, the museum moved into its present location in The Anne and Benjamin Cone Building designed by the architectural firm Mitchell Giurgula. The museum has six galleries and a sculpture courtyard with over 17,000 square feet of exhibition space. The American Association of Museums accredited the Weatherspoon in 1995 and renewed its accreditation in 2005.

Collections + Exhibitions
The permanent collection of the Weatherspoon Art Museum is considered to be one of the foremost of its kind in the Southeast. It represents all major art movements from the beginning of the 20th century to the present. Of the nearly 6,000 works in the collection are pieces by such prominent figures as Sol LeWitt, Robert Mangold, Cindy Sherman, Al Held, Alex Katz, Henry Tanner, Louise Nevelson, Mark di Suvero, Deborah Butterfield, and Robert Rauschenberg. The museum regularly lends to major exhibitions nationally and internationally.

The Weatherspoon also is known for its adventurous and innovative exhibition program. Through a dynamic annual calendar of fifteen to eighteen exhibitions and a multi-disciplinary educational program for audiences of all ages, the museum provides an opportunity for audiences to consider artistic, cultural, and social issues of our time and enriches the life of our university, community, and region.

Weatherspoon Art Museum
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Spring Garden and Tate Streets, PO Box 26170
Greensboro, NC 27402-6170, 336.334.5770,

For more information or press images, contact:
Loring Mortensen, 336-256-1451,